Home Technical Talk

Unwrapping tyre treads

Hi all

I'm modelling a car and I've come to the point where I'm unwrapping it, though I'm not too experienced at it all. I'm unwrapping one of the tyres as a separate object and have got to the point where it's all done apart from the treads.

I'm using Modo, and as you can see in the screenshot I've highlighted the outer edges and cut it at 2 points across the width in the hope that Modo will separate those sections and lay out a nice flat tread UV for me, but it won't work. I originally tried it with 1 cut across the width so I wouldn't have two seams, but that didn't work so well either.

What you can't see in the image is that within the messy UV's on the left a lot of them are overlapping too. I can relax it but then the UV's get even more spread out and wonky looking, anyone know what I should be doing to unwrap this correctly?

Thanks

tyreissue.jpg

Replies

• igi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    igi polycounter lvl 12
    I'd apply a cylindric uv mapping and then tweak the uv scale manually to get desired result instead of picking seams and apply an uv unwrap modifier.For the sides you probably will get some distortion but it's possible to fix that at a point by moving the edges in uv window.Apply a checker material to see stretching effect on your model while unwrapping.

Are you sure want to unwrap this high poly model?Don't you intend to bake a low-poly?Unwrapping that kind of detailed tire seems a bit pointless to me.
  • DEElekgolo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DEElekgolo interpolator
  • PHaynes888
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's tyre if you're British, which I am :)

Anyway, thanks for the reply igi, I've been asked a few times if I intend to make a low poly and I've said no as this is just for modelling practice and not for a game or anything. Beginning to reconsider though if it's going to make unwrapping and texturing harder in the long run...