Home General Discussion

UI Designer

Hi all,

first, I'm a total beginner regarding Video Game Design.

In short:

Where can I find some training/tutorial/books regarding UI design?

I'm a beginner and would need to start at the very basics.
I would also appreciate it if you could tell me some forums regarding UI design or game design in general, I know this is more a Game Art forum, but someone suggested to ask this here.

Thank you all in advance.

Replies

• nick2730
    welcome, hit the wiki button on the top banner everything you need is there
  • Chimp
    Offline / Send Message
    Chimp interpolator
    Good luck, tis a challenging but rewarding role. Can be really challenging.
  • Chimp
    Offline / Send Message
    Chimp interpolator
    yeah, you'll want a good technical knowledge though as often indie projects can't afford scaleform so they roll their own.
    stuff like what kerning is, how elements transform and move (ease in and out) etc.
  • winterfell
    Great help guys!

Basically I would like to be able to do everything from design to function.
    I believe I'll learn design principles, page layout, typography, Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop first.
    Does one use Flash OR Scaleform or are they both part of the pipeline?
    Just to get a good overview: after that should I go with Unity or UDK to develope User Interfaces (I know, early to ask but still I would like to know it :) )

I'm more interested in UI's for third person games than FPS UI's. Although I somehow would like to be able to create all kinds of UI's.

Thank you.
  • Equanim
    Offline / Send Message
    Equanim polycounter lvl 11
    Hey Winterfell,