Home Technical Talk

(Help) 3D High Poly Baking - Trouble with Simplicity

So I'm a beginner modeler, modeling a Trigun for my own personality enjoyment, and I finished it. However, I sub-d'd it and now I need to bake shit. I thought it would be simply however i was wrong. The BULLETS aint working (easiest thing to do, so i did it first.)

HP Bullet
nJlB

LP Bullet
nJlU

So you take the too, unwrap the low poly. Put The HP in the LP, then apply a projection modifier and push the vertex out so it covers the whole HP. Once thats done you press 0 for Render to Texture, apply a normalmap map, 1024x1024, use projection, render. End up getting this

nJn1

You don't see it here but I got Ray on Flat Surfaces!. Makes no sence. The cage is CLEARLY over it. Also wavenyness -.- ... use the Point 3P Shader, apply the normal to a prim texture, then apply it to the bullet, and I end up getting things like this

nD4N
nD5E

I have no experience in this, nor do i even understand how it works, i just followed a tutorial.

What exactly am i doing wrong?

Replies

• cryrid
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    For waviness see http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81154

You could probably get rid of the 4 loops towards the middle of the case that dont really make a significant difference to the silhouette, and put the geo towards making the bullet more round or smoothing out some of those 90' transitions around the primer and bullet
  • Shiro Itami
    cryrid wrote: »
    For waviness see http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=81154

You could probably get rid of the 4 loops towards the middle of the case that dont really make a significant difference to the silhouette, and put the geo towards making the bullet more round or smoothing out some of those 90' transitions around the primer and bullet

So make the bullet more round, try and remove the 90 degree turns and add more geometry to the bullet?
  • Mark Dygert