Home General Discussion

Introduction - Hello Everyone

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forums here, and have been enjoying learning from you all before I even registered. So, first, I'd like to thank everyone for all their contributions to helping others.

I'm a self employed artist. I went to school for and work in music mostly and have my own studio. But I've always had a love of animation. I've been doing voice acting and different characters since I was a kid. I've done some very minor acting work on a handful of major films and came to understand and love "the process" through that. Since then, I've spent a lot of time modeling and looking to make my own animated series and/or game.

Right now, I'm in the middle of finishing my first TF2 hat, and thought this would be the place to run it by some other artists and designers for critiques and comments. Mostly though, just having conversations about creation and the creation process with people who actively DO create is a huge bonus to me. Most people I know have a strong love of "going through the motions" and talk a lot about doing things in the future. I would rather spend that time creating things and building on what I've learned with practical working experience, as opposed to philosophy of art or creation. It seems like this forum has a lot of "Do-ers" in it. Nothing against dreaming, it's a big part of things, but you can dream while you refine your work and watch the dreams evolve.