Options
    Offline / Send Message
    metalliandy interpolator
    Nice! Thanks for posting :)
  • Zieg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi guys,

Firstly I apologize for the length of this post, but I think this will solve the Blender rage I'm reading...

About 6 months ago I decided to get into 3d modelling and animation, etc., and started up in Blender mainly because it is freeware, I was impressed with its capabilities. Being a noob, I found it difficult at first but because of the large amount of new-user friendly tutorials, I eventually learned and am now considering learning 3ds or maya.

Is Blender the best software for modelling or animation? Probably not, but that is a matter to be decided from reviewing finished works of art from the Program, not its design flaws. Discounting the credibility of software that is able to create animations like Sintel simply because of an elitist view of not having paid $3000-$7000 for the software and licenses, or jumping into a design program at a University or College for tens of thousands of dollars without knowing if you will even enjoy it... is a little silly.

If every pencil in the world was $5000 and you wanted to learn how to draw, that is perhaps quite an expensive mistake if it is really not for you. If I created a synthetic pencil that performed very similarly for free, what is stopping everyone from learning to draw if they wish, without getting into debt?

Blender is an amazing stepping stool into the awesome artistic world, and if the artist believes the extra cash spent on professional 3d software is worth the added capabilities it provides to them, then wonderful. The more capabilities Blender has in relation to the professional suites, the better, in my opinion.

Again, just my two cents.
  • greevar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    greevar polycounter lvl 6
    Zieg wrote: »
    Hi guys,