Home General Discussion

Internships and unpaid work

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Torch interpolator
Hi all, I've been trying to get into characters as a junior or even intern but have been struggling for a long time now. I'll cut straight to the chase, I'm not a pro by any means, but I'm working on improving myself as much as I can. I wondered if game companies would actually consider taking on someone for a short period of time, say 1-2 months, (unpaid work experience) to see how they would do in a production setting and, following a good performance, would then hire the intern as a junior. I don't want to go bothering the HR departments of these studios if it doesn't seem like a good idea to enquire about it, but just thought I'd see what you guys thought.

I've been working in QA for a long time now but really want to get into development, even if it involved me working on 30 rocks a day! Be good to hear what you guys think, thanks :)

EDIT: Just saw there's a 'getting into the industry' sticky already up, doh! Shoulda read that first XD

Replies

• RyanB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch wrote: »
    Hi all, I've been trying to get into characters as a junior or even intern but have been struggling for a long time now. I'll cut straight to the chase, I'm not a pro by any means, but I'm working on improving myself as much as I can. I wondered if game companies would actually consider taking on someone for a short period of time, say 1-2 months, (unpaid work experience) to see how they would do in a production setting and, following a good performance, would then hire the intern as a junior. I don't want to go bothering the HR departments of these studios if it doesn't seem like a good idea to enquire about it, but just thought I'd see what you guys thought.

I've been working in QA for a long time now but really want to get into development, even if it involved me working on 30 rocks a day! Be good to hear what you guys think, thanks :)