Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Brian Choi

high dynamic range
Offline / Send Message
Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
Hi, my name is Brian Choi, and I'm a sophomore at USC's Interactive Media Division (as of December 2011). Springboarding off of http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92716

I'm going to primarily keep this as a 3D project update and occasional 2D sketchbook. I maintain a mostly 2D one on CGHUB 2D Sketchbook.

Right now, I'm weaning myself after going through about 75% of the "Introducing Maya 2011" by Derakhshani [who is surprisingly one of the faculty members here at USC] and going to make my own character model, from beginning to hopefully rigging and some animations. At a minimum, UV mapping and textures.

This is the Steampunk Minotaur at the moment. Gonna try to at most cap it at 10000 triangles and keep it useable for a game like Torchlight. Most likely gonna handpaint my own textures later.

If anyone has any critiques about any of the work I am doing, I will gladly gorge and masticate it with joy.

Steampunk+Minotaur+WIP+1.jpg

Replies

• Hammed Al-Tamimi
    Welcome to the Polycount Sketchbook thread!

My one piece of advice for you now is to think about edge loop flow. Anywhere that will deform needs good flow of geometry so the character will keep its shape during deformation (primarily animations).

I look forward to seeing more work!
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steampunk+Minotaur+WIP+2.jpg

SketchPad19.jpg

This is the Minotaur right now, and a several hour piece I've worked on recently.