Home Technical Talk

3Ds Max/ Zbrush: Industry vs personal workflow

polycounter lvl 12
Online / Send Message
HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12
Hi all, After reading, watching and searching on Zbrush workflow I am facing the point of decision making on the subject of workflow when using Zbrush and Max together.

I am going to prefer making low poly with enough details than importing to Zbrush for more stuff to get Normals and other maps. I dont want to end up wasting time using optimisation and simplyfying mesh. Its just me I dont like computer do calculations for me and give me a mess to deal with. I have used optimization thing before and I really hate them.
I am using UDK so I love my grid setup in Max, I am new to Zbrush and havent found precise calculation thing yet.

Compared to what experts in Zbrush are doing.
Making super high stuff, importing in Max using Polycruncher, sorting out messed up vertices, edges, Unwrapping etc.

I know in arts there is no right or wrong way and patience is the key to victory, but i dont have time as a luxury at hand and would like to know what u guys think before I fully commit myself into Painting stuff like a pro :D.

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    Hi all, After reading, watching and searching on Zbrush workflow I am facing the point of decision making on the subject of workflow when using Zbrush and Max together.

There's theory, and then there's practice. The latter should give you a good indication of how the process works, which should then give you a better indication of when you may (or may not) want to use such methods. It's not something that should require a full commitment or a lot of time; small tests and experiments will suffice.