Home Technical Talk

Zbrush: Hard surface help

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12
Hi all, I have never used Zbrush before and would like to know the best possible way to learn fast hard suface modelling for game assets, like some of Gears 3 assets. My aim is to focus only on hard surface, industrial design and sci fi theme.

So far Zbrush Central has basic stuff and I dont plan to pay yet :/ for training.

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    Not to be a dick, but, really?

There are tons of resources on the web. If you want to do mech stuff in Zbrush I suggest you get the Eat3D tutorials.
  • Rockley Bonner
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rockley Bonner polycounter lvl 12
    Whats a google?
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Ugh, I wrote a pretty hefty post about this, but the forums seems to have lost it, bleh.

Anyhow, here is what I had typed.

-Masking and Inflate are you best friends.
    -Second best friends are Morphs and Layers.
    -Don't stick to one mesh, just like in real-life, HD objects are layered (EI: the grip of the gun should have the cover-grip, screws, etc in different mesh's) use that to your advantage.
    -Polish brush = surface flatten and cleanup.
    -Dynamesh + Add/Sub poly function.

The only real tutorials I advice from HD is the 2 from eat3D.
  • HAWK12HT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not to be a dick, but, really?

There are tons of resources on the web. If you want to do mech stuff in Zbrush I suggest you get the Eat3D tutorials.

Ye "Really" :D cause some genious told me pros live here at Poly count and "Ace-Angel" answered like a pro :) that was very helpful.