Home Technical Talk

Low Poly Assets Research

Hi there, I'm relatively new to PolyCount so wasn't sure if this was the right place for my question - if not then feel free to move it.

I'm a student currently writing a research document on 'How would one make low poly game assets effective within a contemporary game engine in today’s increasing demanding market?'

Could anyone briefly (or more in depth if you like) outline their workflow & approach, from modelling to importing into the games engine, that you would take to do such a thing - Or even just point me in the direction of some useful reading resources.

I've already read a load of tutorials regarding baking normals, collisions, difuse & specular maps and different low poly techniques I just wanted some first hand advice on it all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.[FONT=&quot]

[/FONT]

Replies

• Cdawilliams
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Realised that I was quite vague. I'm not really looking into how its done as I have a fairly good working knowledge of 3DS Max - I'm more interested in the order professionals would go about doing it and why.
  • CrackRockSteady
    I'll just give you a very brief synopsis of my process:

- model unoptimized "mid poly" asset.
    - make 2 copies. One copy gets optimized (collapse edges, weld verts, etc) and UVed, the other becomes my high-poly mesh for baking.
    - depending on the asset, either create high-poly model using 3ds max, or export the model for detailing in zbrush (or both).
    - Bake normal map and AO using 3ds max or Xnormal
    - Use baked normal map and AO map as a base for texturing in photoshop.
    - create texture using photoshop. Export model and textures, import into UDK or whatever engine I'm using.

Not really sure what aspects of the process you're interested in but if you have any questions about specifics I'll do the best I can to answer.
  • Cdawilliams
    Options
    Offline / Send Message