Home General Discussion

Just Not Happening

I am really interested in modeling but I just can't get the grasp of it. I have watched many tutorials and such but I can't get the grasp of any of this 3d modeling stuff. I see in the previews section all of the stuff that you guys create. You guys make it look so easy but I can't even crate a simple crate. I just don't get it.

Help please?

Replies

• oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    Do you do any other art?
  • NobleWulf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not really. I'm not that good at drawing. I just really want to get into modeling.
  • GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    NobleWulf wrote: »
    Not really. I'm not that good at drawing. I just really want to get into modeling.

Gotta learn to walk before you run.

Modeling is, quite literally, sculpting with a lot of technical tools between you and what you're trying to do.

Sculpting is in many ways more complicated than drawing.

You need to understand composition, silhouette, volume, proportion, and all kinds of other things before you can truly "run" with 3D art.

I am not pulling this all out of my ass. I made the same mistakes you did, I made them at 17, and nine years later I am finally (mostly) caught up.

I would strongly suggest you seek some basic traditional art instruction before expecting to grasp 3D modeling tools with any form of fluency. Some people can pull it off, but they are the exception.
  • Stromberg90
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stromberg90 polycounter lvl 11
    Do you follow the tutorials?
    Might seam like a stupid questions, but I don't follow all the tutorials I watch because I can learn from them and apply it later.

But if you are just starting out you really need to follow the tutorial to learn something, and like everything else you need to practice and work to get better.