Home Technical Talk

Triangle Smoothing Issues

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Architaylor polycounter lvl 12
Hi all,

I'm having an issue with shading and I'm fairly sure it's to do with my triangulation. I'm rendering in Marmoset but I think that it's a universal issue so I'm posting here, I hope it's the right place :)

As you can see from the picture I'm having trouble with some faces receiving no shading for some reason. All the faces are in the same smoothing groups. I can't for the life of me figure out what's causing the issue but I'm fairly new to modelling in tris so I suspect it's something very obvious. I've tried googling the error but it hasn't come up with anything.

smoothingerror.jpg

Any help would be much appreciated,

Thanks a lot,

Taylor

Replies

• Noors
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Noors greentooth
    Since you talk of smoothing group i assume you use 3dsmax.
    Hard to say without the file, it could be flipped faces, double faces, vertex not welded...
    Apply a reset xform on your object, then check if everything is welded correctly. Enable the backface culling in the object properties, to see if you have flipped faces.
  • Twister3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Twister3 polycounter lvl 12
    Sometimes shading errors like this are caused by unwelded vertices. Or different smoothing groups.

If that doesn't fix it you could unify the normals of the mesh. In 3ds Max you can do this by applying the modifier "unify normals" and hitting the "unify" button.
  • Architaylor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Architaylor polycounter lvl 12