Home Technical Talk

correct terminology: shader maps? render maps? what are they called?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
dorian polycounter lvl 5
Hello Polycount!

I am a painter and illustrator, getting into 3D.

There are some concepts in 3D that are very helpful in 2D painting. One of them is the concept of "maps" like normal map, emissive map, specular map, diffuse map, etc.

What is the name of the category of these maps? There must be a more precise word than just "maps". Is it "Shader Maps"? Or "Render Maps"? Or something else? Or am I throwing different categories together here? As in normal maps being different from specular maps and those being different from texture maps again?

*confused*

hope you can help :)

Best,
Dorian

PS. just to not make this a text-only post, here's an image I did with ZBrush a while back:

doodles-2010-01-11.jpg
CHOW186_Dorian-3Dface.jpg
CHOW186_Dorian-3Dsketch1.jpg

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Generally called Texture Maps.

-Color = Diffuse Map
    -Shiny = Specularity Map
    -Tightness of Shiny = Glossiness Map
    -Glow = Emissive Map (or self illumination map)
    -Transparency = Opacity Map (or opacity mask)
    -Face information on a polygon = Normal Map (grey scale = bump map)
    -Displacement = Height Map
  • cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    I imagine they could go by many names depending on the background of the artist or program being used, but generally you could probably just stick to calling them textures, maps, or texture maps and people will know what you're talking about.
    Fake depth information with XYZ information = Normal Map
    Isn't a normal map just overwriting the meshes' normals (the direction they'd be facing, not the depth)
  • Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid wrote: »