Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Some recent digital paintings, please critique

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MMKH polycounter lvl 11
Hello, I'm new to the Polycount forums and joined because I saw some really talented art and was hoping to get some inspiration and feedback on my own work.

Here are a couple of my recent digital paintings that I've done in my spare time. One of my goals is to become a concept artist, illustrator, or texture artist within the gaming industry.

pit_fiend_by_mmkh-d41ufz1.jpg

the_draugrnaut_by_mmkh-d3jdsux.jpg

Vindicator_by_MMKH.jpg

For more of my work, visit http://mmkh.deviantart.com/gallery/24560565 . I have done many custom fan game textures for League of Legends and would like some input on those as well. Thank you.

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    I think you should work on your perspective, posing and lighting/forms. right now all the characters seem evenly lit which makes them seem super flat and have no volume to the shapes. its better on the bottom one, the blue one is the flattest I think.

The perspective on that axe is really weird, it looks kinda bent and like the bottom part has been twisted a bit. the perspective on the blue guy looks a bit off as well.

in terms of posing, none of these poses feel really natural or fliuid. the minotaurs legs seem awkwardly posed and different sizes beacause of it. the way the blue guy is holding his arm up feels funny and having his hand posed like that feels awkward.

I think the 3rd painting is a definite improvement over the 1st 2 and show skill progression for sure. it looks like you have a decent understanding of color as well.

hope this isnt too harsh, just want to give you the main crits so you have something to focus on for your next painting.
  • MMKH
    Offline / Send Message
    MMKH polycounter lvl 11