Home General Discussion

Where games are these days?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
octokitty polycounter lvl 14
I really hope this hasn't already recently been discussed... but i had sort of a realization today that is really disappointing for some people (like me!).

So, I graduated last year with a bfa in 3d modeling. Most of my learning was in low poly modeling and texturing. Since I've graduated I've had one full time job (that I was just laid-off from unfortunately due to the fact that the game wasn't bringing in enough money for the whole company...). That job was for a facebook game called "PopSugar's Retail Therapy." I did 3d models for that game, which was awesome for me, but I was always a little confused about why we didn't just go with 2d vector like almost everyone else. I guess it was just to be a little different though, which was cool.

Anyway, where I'm getting at is it seems like these days low-poly 3d is almost obsolete. Most facebook/phone games are flash now, and console/pc games are all high poly (8000+ tris), normal mapped and really high quality... there's barely a place for low poly modeling (when i say low poly, i mean less than 1000 tris or something around there). It really sucks, cause in school i never even learned normal mapping. I'm actually really surprised my teachers didn't get into that, I like I said I just graduated last year... Anyway, I just want to start a conversation about this and see what other people think?

Replies

• Rico
    What about cell phone games and handheld?
  • octokitty
    Offline / Send Message