Home Technical Talk

Udk material planet bombarment.

keyframe
Offline / Send Message
SnakeDoctor keyframe
Hey guys I am currently creating a space scene for my portfolio and have made a lot of progress on the planet shader that I am doing.

World.png

The final thing I would like to do with this material is to make it look like its being bombarded almost like 14 seconds into this video.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GImJdrCSOFA[/ame]

I cant think of a way to this in the material editor. I am still fairly new at using it so there is a big possibility that I am unfamiliar with an expression or two. Any help at all would be appreciated. Thanks again :-D

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Create a second set of UV's (or third if you have a second one).

Make sure the are you want bombarded is flat and no stretching.

Create an 'Atlas' type of textures (the kind used for flipping books or sprites in games).

Marry your base planet shader with the fancy shamncy set of functions that are working with your second UV channels and voila done.

I'm not sure how doable this is in UDK, but it should be fine. I'm sure someone more versed in UDK can show you with a few screenshots.
  • Kurt Russell Fan Club
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kurt Russell Fan Club polycounter lvl 9
    You probably shouldn't try to do that in the shader. If you did, you'd need a separate subtree of your material dedicated to each explosion, which would increase the number of instructions for every pixel each time that you added a new explosion. The Unreal way is to add a particle system and dynamic light for each little explosion, and I think knowing that and saying it would help your folio.