Home General Discussion

I need some advice for 3D

Well i am starting first to learn the basic modeling techniques in maya,and i have a lot of fun.But, how do you guys make so realistic characters? I've heard that after modeling a character everyone are applying textures? Can you tell me how is in row the process of making realistic things,
I know that first you do is:
1. Concept art
2,modeling
3.???
4???
Sorry for such a noobish question but i am new at this:D

Replies

• MasteroftheFork
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MasteroftheFork polycounter lvl 18
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    Kachuro wrote: »
    Well i am starting first to learn the basic modeling techniques in maya,and i have a lot of fun.But, how do you guys make so realistic characters? I've heard that after modeling a character everyone are applying textures? Can you tell me how is in row the process of making realistic things,
    1. Concept art
    2,modeling
    3.???
    4???

Dont be trollin' Fork.

I would say you list is a bit messed up. It should go

1. Reference
    2. Reference
    3.More Reference
    4. Concept Art
    5. Modelling
    6. Unwrapping (Making UV's; what you will texture with later) Always do this before skinning your character for animation
    7. Make a rig
    8. Skinning
    9. Animation and beyond.

Go here and buy everything that has that orc on the cover ;)http://eat3d.com/training_videos
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
    1. Concept art, find an idea you like
    2. Start laying down the body and sculpting, work side by side with reference. This step will create a manikin to for the next step.
    3. Export a mid level density, bring into your editor for dressing.
    4. Start to add the clothes and accessories, these are usually modeled to fit the form
    5. return to sculpting (if you sculpt) and add details to the pieces.