Home General Discussion

Routes into the gaming industry.

Hey there :)

Am new here (don't worry I have read the "READ THIS NOOB" thread ;)).

Got directed here from another smaller forum where I was asking about courses in game design and routes into the game design industry.

The indie game industry really appeals to me (yes I realise how hard it is etc) but what I'm really after is some input about routes to take.

I have NO 3D design experience or programming knowledge. I do however have several 6years art training (which ended up as a Fine Art degree).

I've been given a couple of links to books that would help me self-teach myself 3D design which I am going to buy, I have also looked into courses but was suggested it may not be worth doing a design course as I don't plan to take advantage of the whole uni experience of going out etc (been there, done that).

I was wondering if you have any input as to whether it is worth doing a course (bearing in mine I would have to find the £10k tuition fees myself), or it is more productive to self-teach and use forums as places to get crits etc?

I am also interested in hearing from anyone who is working as an indie developer and if it's counter productive to outsource programming etc.

Basically, I have wanted to do this since I was 14 and was actively discouraged by my tutors and careers advisers and am now regretting it and so am looking into all my options. In the end, doesn't hurt to look does it :)

Bearing in mind I am totally oblivious at the moment to any programming/3D modelling jargon and have no knowledge of it, any links to books/websites that you think would help a newbie are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Kind regards

Vicki

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    the self taught vs school discussion is something that is on going,and will never end. it basically comes down to this.....

do you have the motivation to teach yourself?