Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Art Dump] Alex MacDonald - Environmental Artist

Hi all! My name is Alex and I'm an environmental artist who will be graduating soon.
I've just started to feel comfortable enough with the quality of my artwork to show it off, so any critiques or tips would be appreciated.

I was assigned this door in class. It's based off a quake 4 concept. Screenshot's from UDK. Also, the textures are 2 x 1024 and 1 x 512.

QuakeDoor.jpg

Replies

• Cooljay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Orange is kind of too saturated. It could be toned down a little more.
  • nordahl154
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    nordahl154 polycounter lvl 9
    The saturation of the orange depends completely on the surrounding environment. Generally what we see are more serious environments, so I can see where you're saying it needs to be desaturated a little bit. However if this were a little more cartoonish/less serious this could very easily fit in.
  • Sean VanGorder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think there might be just a little too much orange. It looks like its worn enough that some of the orange would be scratched off in areas. Could you post your texture sheets?

Also, the concept is by Paul Richards, if you want to credit him directly.
    quake4_door1.jpg
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    That was your class assignment? Strange they would assign someone elses concept for class. Seems like paul richards or activision should be paid a fee for designing course work :)
  • sinistergfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sinistergfx polycounter lvl 18
    The proportions of the parts are a bit odd (side indent pieces are super squashed, the top bits of the door frame look puny). And you left out lots of the cool details (various indentions, the lights/buttons next to the circular bit, the paneling in the top part of the door).