Home General Discussion

Carrer seems to be hitting a brick wall.

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Spiralface triangle
Hello Polycounters,

So I don't know about many others here, but lately I've felt like I'm being tugged around a little bit and I'm starting to just get overall frustrated with my job searching.

The studio that I had been steadily employed at for many years has pretty much closed up shop and I've been looking for work, and finding the hunt super frustrating.

I've been a character / general artist for the past 4 years, and while I take my reels to GDC and get positive reviews of it there, and have at least been in the running for a few positions, I'm finding that I send my stuff away to studios high and low and only seem to get art tests or interviews when I can actually sit down and talk to someone.

I don't know if its all the nebulous websites, just my own work slipping after working so long in the "get it done yesterday" section of the cg world, but I'm seriously down to the wire and starting to look for work elsewhere since I don't seem to be getting anywhere in searching for even temp positions anywhere in the industry.

Have any of you guys been there? What kind of work did you transfer over while in between projects? My last position I got right out of college, so I'm thinking of what other feilds I can apply my experience twards just to keep a roof over my head. I'm still trying to remain positive about landing a position within the industry, as I know that I'm fully capable of doing the work, but for right now I seriously need to find some kind of work.

Any stories of encouragement or even feedback on my portfolio or anything would be helpful.

*edit* I don't know why but my sig with my weblink seems to only work when it feels like it, so incase it isn't showing my website is here if you want to critique my work:

www.spiralface.com

Replies

• bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod