Home General Discussion

Help me buy a new computer for rendering and gaming

Hello Polycount,
My name is Powerbored.
(long time fan, first time poster)

Introduction
Today my Dell laptop finally died after 3 years of being a pile of crap so I'm looking to buy a new desktop computer.

I'm currently in my final year of studying game design and would like a computer that will last me through the course and through my first few years working (hopefully) in the game industry.

I would like to spec the computer with a focus on gaming and rendering both from animation software (specifically Maya) and real time development software (specifically Unity)

The Fun Stuff
Any and all suggestions will be welcomed, from general specs of computers people either own or dream of owning, to experience with specific parts and compatibility, even opinions on preferred brands is useful.

The more you can tell me and the better you can justify your opinion or experience, the more likely it is that I will take it into account.

I have about $3500 Australian to spend, feel free to post using your local currency though, I'm not afraid of a little research and things tend to have a higher price mark-up over here anyway.

Also if anyone regularly buys or recently bought a computer around Melbourne Australia feel free to leave store recommendations/rebukes.

Thanks in advance,
Powerbored

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well let me get the first obvious post out of the way.

1. Your budget is too high, generally speaking 800-1500 USD can build a nice-superawesome computer. I'm not sure how much higher tech prices are in AU, but I doubt its 3X. =)

2. I'm going to suggest you look into building your own, as you will save a lot of money, and its a good skill to learn. Its also not that hard as well, just following basic instructions.
  • Makkon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Makkon polycounter