Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[3Ds Max] Japanese Temple Game Level

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in my last semester at college, and we were told to create a single-camera-shot from our own "game level." We had complete creative control of the theme/style/etc. The assignment wasn't to complete a real game level -- in other words, things you don't see from the camera didn't have to be textured/finalized. Instead, we were to create more a sample type of level that would be in our hypothetical original title.

Here's what I have at the moment:

BretonVictoria-1.jpg

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! I'd love a pair of fresh eyes to take a look at this.

Replies

• MattQ86
    Offline / Send Message
    MattQ86 polycounter lvl 14
    Good work. Congrats on reaching the end of the long and brutal war of attrition that is finishing an art degree.

I'm not really an environment guy so the best I can offer is this: Those fireworks are a part of the skybox texture right? I kind of feel like you might be better served making them a particle effect of some kind (maybe with light sources parented) as right now they look sot of dull and faded in comparison with the rest of the scene. Also, if you get a chance look into porting these assets into UDK.
  • burtonyang
    Nice work on your scene. Okay, first of all, that black background is totally killing it for me, there's no such thing as a black sky; at least use a color and you can make it really dark. Your textures make everything look really new, unless that's what you want, but it would be more interesting if you break it up more. Your lanterns don't look correctly lit either. Your light sources make the scene look awkward also.

Here's some lighting reference with what I had in mind. You can totally use the lights to shape and frame your scene.

taiwan_lantern_festival_2006_01.jpg
  • LMP
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13