Home Technical Talk

Understanding averaged normals and ray projection/Who put waviness in my normal map?

Replies

• killnpc
    Offline / Send Message
    killnpc polycounter
    ajr2764, start your own thread, you cretin.
  • Lamont
    Offline / Send Message
    Lamont polycounter lvl 15
  • DLoud
    Offline / Send Message
    DLoud polycounter lvl 15
    Good stuff here Earthquake
  • fearian
    Offline / Send Message
    fearian greentooth
    Nice one Lamont!

And bloody nice one EQ! Cheers for sticking around and expanding on some of this stuff as well! Great thread!

I know I've heard alot of this stuff before in bits and pieces, but I'd still not corrected my workflow properly. What you mentioned about 'bake and forget' - getting it right with the mesh and avoiding problems latter - really rung true!
  • EarthQuake
    This was some great information. I am still a rookie at modeling, high to low poly modeling in particular and I noticed that you mentioned creating a "model for your low", which I assume is a thread similar to this or perhaps a tutorial. Regardless, I'm having difficulty finding it. Could you post a link please? I would love to read it.

Sorry, there is not a thread for this, and it is not "a model" but "Modeling for your low". What this means is that we plan and model our highpoly giving lots of consideration to how the final lowpoly will be constructed.
    Tickwomp wrote: »
    Ugh, been looking through simlar normal map threads to figure out what the hell is going on whenever I have to bake stuff; this sums it up nicely. I do have a question about this specific example though. Is it safe to say that the waviness is less in the far right cylinder because shape of the cylinder matches closer to the high poly? The top edge also looks nicer than I've ever been able to achieve; is that only from averaging the normals of the cage and having more sides?

Well, two things.