Home General Discussion

GuildHall @ SMU ?

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Mike_Carlyle polycounter lvl 17
Greetings fellow PolyCounters...

I was posting this thread because I wanted to hear the opinions of the community on the GuildHall. I've kept pretty up-to-date on how ya'll feel about "game schools", but I have also noticed that GuildHall has it's own rep.

When it comes to general 'game schools', I've always been told; Save your money and your time and invest it into online tutorials, self practice, and PolyCount :-) . Although, GuildHall always seems to come up.

Well, now I am a recently separated military veteran who has this GI BIll, and I'm looking at the GuildHall. I wanted to get feedback from PolyCount, on whether or not attending the courses at GuildHall is the way to go or continuing to self-educate only should be the route. Hmm, Both?

I know there are some very talented, knowledgeable, industry types here. I was hoping on alittle 'Green' insight before making a decision like this, on this topic. I look forward to any comments, advice on the subject... and I thank you all for your time.

Replies

• Ninjas
    Offline / Send Message
    Ninjas polycounter lvl 18
    Guildhall used to be considered pretty solid even by Polycount standards. I don't think anyone has mentioned it recently. A few oldschool Polycounters used to teach there
  • Mike_Carlyle
    Offline / Send Message
    Well thanks Ninjas... hey, how many polycounters do we have out there that have gone to the school or were a teacher there?

Does seem like talk of the place is less as of late. Still just tryin' to gather infio
  • Ninjas
    Offline / Send Message
    Ninjas polycounter lvl 18
    I don't want to take anything away from Guild Hall, but their program seems a bit light-weight from a 4 year school perspective. (the sample they have up has their semesters with only 9 or 10 credit hours. Not enough to be a "full time student" legally)