Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Reel and Content

Vital70
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Vital70 polycounter lvl 7
Reel: http://vimeo.com/19378848

Just wanted some critiques on my reel edit, i am still a student, and was looking at how i should present me work, and what has worked for others out there.

I have gotten some feedback from a couple of guys at EA and Lucas as far as critiques on what to do so i editted it once and got this, and would like to know more of what to do.

Also, any critiques on the content itself, whats working, what isnt, what should i do to change things to look a little better.

I am an evironmental artist btw.

The reel consists of three levels, all of the third level (Lucifer) is hand painted.

Any critiques and feedback please and thank you.

-Ant

Replies

• CrackRockSteady
    This is by no means a comprehensive critique, but I'll give my first impressions.

First off, your work looks pretty solid for the most part, I just think the presentation needs work. I didn't see the link to your website until the end of the reel, but what I (and probably a lot of other people here) would say is that showcasing your environments in still images on your website is probably the best way to go. If you want to have the video reel hosted on the website as well, go for it. But a lot of employers want to take a good long look at some nice high resolution images of your work. Even though you do have slow flythroughs, which is good, it is difficult for people to really get a good look at the work in a relatively low resolution video. Get some nice high resolution stills from each of your environments, and I would also think about showing off some individual assets from each scene and include things like triangle counts, wireframes, and texture flats. You want to give employers as much information about your work as you can.

As for the content in your scenes, here are my impressions for each one: