Home Technical Talk

Looking for a Budget 3D Package

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
M-Cubed polycounter lvl 6
Hello everyone, I'm brand new to polycount here, but have heard many good things and have decided to register today.

First a bit about myself. I'm a young 3d artist just starting out. I do have about a year and a half of industry experience, and right now am in between contracts. I'm wanting to use this time to work on portfolio pieces, personal projects, and maybe some freelance work on the side. The problem is, I no longer have access to a major 3D package like I did while I was in school or working for a studio.

So I'm looking to purchase one, however seeing as I am unemployed at the moment, I don't have a lot of money. I've been looking around the forums here and the tools wiki page, downloading some trials of various software, but I was wondering what you guys would recommend for a budget of $1000? I'm lucky enough to already own Zbrush and the Adobe Creative suite, but I'm lacking a basic 3D modeling, animation and rendering package.

The only one I can see that offers everything for about 1000 bucks is Lightwave. Other ones I have checked out are Silo, and Modo for mostly modeling, but I would like animation as well, and character animation if I can get it. I've also seriously considered Blender, however a lot of the guys I talked to at the previous studio I worked at sort of turned their noses at it. It seems being open source anything makes you a bit of a black sheep in the professional market.

So what do you guys think? What's a good budget tool that I can use for my personal work, some freelance, and will be recognized by future employers to show I have the technical skills?

Replies

• PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Cinema4D maybe?

Also, this might help on your search: http://wiki.polycount.com/CategoryTools
  • Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator