Home Technical Talk

Bamboo tablet and concept art?

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
aajohnny polycounter lvl 13
Hey,
I hope this is the right section for this, but I have been drawing a lot lately, and I am a good prop concept artist. Its about time to get a tablet. I am a college student so I obviously don't have a lot of money but I have one on my eye for a beginner digital artist and its the Wacom Bamboo Pen Tablet for $69.
I want to be able to make quality concepts like this :

http://www.splashdamage.com/images/content/arttest_concept01.jpg

or

this:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_jGui1JNBXCY/TLm_weEKUCI/AAAAAAAACSs/EvmBSqGBG_0/s1600/sing_prop13.jpg

I know it depends on how good I am to draw like that, but I meant can the bamboo pen tablet allow quality like this? so if my skills are similiar, I can produce similiar concepts?

Replies

• SpeCter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SpeCter polycounter lvl 14
    The Bamboo is actually quite good. I have an old Bambo Fun Medium and and Intuos 3 A3(which i bought, because the bamboo was to small for me, but that depends on the user)

You can use it however to produce good art if you are skilled with it.
  • aajohnny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh cool, im primarily a 3D artist so can I sculpt with it too?
  • Kraftwerk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kraftwerk polycounter lvl 19
    I got an Bamboo Fun A5 which is just about right for me. If you can cash out the money get an Intous but seriously if you want to go a bit easy on your pocket a Bamboo should be more then enough. As long its Wacom youre totally fine.

- And yes my Bamboo works awesome in Mudbox for sculpting.
  • leslievdb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leslievdb polycounter lvl 15
    I now work with a bamboo touch (touch disabled) and i had a bamboo tablet before , i really enjoy working with them.