Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first low poly model

Here's a low poly character I made. This is my first attempt at making low poly character. I'd be much grateful if someone could help me regrading this model or what to remember while making low-poly and texturing it. What program do modeler use when making texture? Do they paint directly or on photoshop?

lowpoly.png

Replies

• Heartless
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Heartless polycounter lvl 8
    I use Photoshop for creating a texture. For low poly you're going to have a really small texture so being able to edit individual pixels is a must.

Your model looks a bit flat. See if you can tweak a few verts or just add some polys to get it looking a little nicer.
  • BorisK
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i know this is 3DS Max but try using the same techniques as these guys.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NFSK_MODnM[/ame]
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wh3sLtUFH1A[/ame]

they're my fav tutorials online. you'll be character modelling in no time

you needs to make him more rounded. dont worry about texturing yet. practice modelling, sculpting and uv unwrapping. texturing will be the cherry on top at the end

most people use mudbox and zbrush to sculpt and texture. i recommend you start in Mudbox and learn about brushes
  • Komalrajsingh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So made some changes in the model. How's it? I've been looking too much into the official low poly thread.. >.< Anyway, mudbox or zbrush? which one should I learn first? & How do modeler unwarp uv? mine looks like sucky.

Here's the pic

lowpoly.png

and i'm using maya 2010.. :)
  • Heartless
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Whoa, how did your model jump up to 1600 tris?

I don't recommend learning Mudbox or zBrush at this point. Learn to be fairly good at low poly modeling with just Maya and Photoshop for textures.