Home General Discussion

How long did it take for you to become profecient

DarKMessiah34
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
DarKMessiah34 polycounter lvl 5
Hey, I was wondering how long has it taken you to reach a point where you feel really proficient in creating game environments. Included are learning modeling (high, low), sculpting, and a game engine such as UDK. I know that everyone is always learning I am just trying to get a good estimate in hopes of putting this a little in preservative for me. I have been doing it for about a year and feel like I have such a long way to go, but at the same time feel like I have come a long way. Thanks for the insight guys.

Replies

• Habboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Habboi sublime tool
    Well I too also have a long way to go but I've been doing "real" art for over 3 years. In the past I used to mod Half Life 1 and then Source but eventually I moved to 3DS Max and finally UDK.

Overall I've been doing this hobby and now career choice for 7 years. Overall you'll find some people are just naturally talented and others take longer. What floor on the office skyscraper did you start at and where are you now?
  • Tom Ellis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    One thing I've learned in my 4 years of 3D;

It's not how long it takes you to be awesome, it's how awesome you are.

I got into game art about 18 months ago, and was focused on learning as much as I could, as quickly as I could, and all I ended up with was a half-assed portfolio.

In the last few months I've completely taken 'time' out of my goals. If it takes me another 10 years to land a job, so be it. And to be honest, my work has never been better, and I'm enjoying it more so than ever.

The problem with answering your question is that it's different for different people, and as you say, you never stop learning. Another variable is how do you judge 'proficient'? One persons idea of proficient may be very different to anothers.