Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Jason Chan Inspired work

ok i need some feedback on this thing cause i'm just not gaining much ground on it and i don't feel it's quite there yet. i've been doing props for a couple years now so i'm a little rusty on characters.

first here are some of the concepts i was working off of from jason chan. i am just doing a 3d model of his work for practice so i want to make sure he gets credited here for his work.

http://www.jasonchanart.com/gallery/2006/original/twins.jpg

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s244/Urthrese/z1_3.jpg

and here's his whole site
http://www.jasonchanart.com/

now here is what i have sculpted in zbrush so far. the face i'm not happy with and feet... well feet are really hard to sculpt in zbrush but i'm trying my best! anyways i'm trying to go for a balance between real and stylized but still stay true to the character.

turnaround.jpg

face.jpg

ok so paintovers are awesome and critiques are fantastic so please tear it apart guys!

Replies

• haikai
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haikai polycounter lvl 8
    Even on a stylized face you'll want to be sensitive to the planes of the face. The shape of the face you have is too generalized and round. It might be a good idea to step down to lower subdivisions and adjust things until you're happy with how the light plays across the face before adding more detail.

Jason Chan has a particular way he likes to paint female faces so you might be able to refer to some of his other work too to get an idea how his faces are formed from other angles.

It's a good start. The face is going to be the most important part so take a few more passes at it to make sure you're not settling for less than it needs.
  • Urthrese
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thanks for the critiques, it really helps a lot.

i had to take a break from it for awhile but i'm back on it now.