Home General Discussion

Looking for clues on how to break into writing for games.

Hello my Polycount friends,

I graduated from college wanting to be a character animator. But, as I get deeper into the process of game creation I'm finding I'm drawn more into the writing and story development side. So my question is, how does one build a portfolio for that?

My initial inspection, and from past experiences, is that you should make a simple module for an existing game that demonstrates a good ability to tell a narrative within the constraints of a game setting. This belief comes from when Bioware would hold 'contests' for writers, where they would just want you to submit quick but engaging modules using the Aurora Toolset. What a great way to demonstrate your ability, but I'm running into some issues.

Mostly that NWN is now so old that I imagine most people wouldn't be able to play a module I created. So, what other solutions are out there that could be reasonably accessible? One thought I had was to try and use UDK but not sure if there would be a way to implement dialogue trees as that would require a bit more scripting that I think I'd have time to learn. Does the Dragon Age Toolset act much like the NWN one?

Any insight into this field would be appreciated. Thank you.

-Jeff Baker

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    well, all the writers I know I met at Mythic but it seemed they all came from tabletop RPG backgrounds. It's possible to get freelance writing gigs with various RPG publications.

From what I've seen, Bioware's writing test is pure writing, no module stuff (that would be more of a content designer job).

Now not many companies have dedicated writers, if you are more interested in creating adventures that fall under the amorphous heading of Game Design.
  • Josh_Singh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Josh_Singh polycounter lvl 18