Home Technical Talk

Directory Structure for game project?

duke
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
duke polycounter lvl 13
I've been working on and off on a project at home for almost 2 years now, and i've decided to clean things up a bit and re-do the directory structure (previously, there was none..). Project Management and versioning are separate issues imo. I'm using SVN for versioning. What I would really like to hear about is how people structure their directories when working on a complete, a-z game. I was thinking:

-/Builds/
--/(By date + version)/

-/Documentation/
--/Concepts (original concept art)/
--/Reference (images, notes, etc.)/
--DesignDoc.doc etc.

-Art
--3dsMax*
--Interface
--Models
--Textures

-Code
--Client
--Common
--Server
--Tools

*=3dsmax has a default project structure that I usually use. The most up-to-date assets are kept as FBX or whatever in the main Models folder.

...any comments?

Replies

• SimonT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SimonT interpolator
    No perfect solution out there i think. I know it for example that way that you have the same folder structure twice: in one you keep the working files (max, psd, ...) and in the one the converted stuff (fbx, dds, ...).

But i think you structure looks good but maybe you will also need subfolders e.g. in the Textures folder (psd, tga, dds, ...)
  • renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    we had this discussion recently at work because we had for years a bloated system in place for everyone to work with. The bad thing we had were to many pre defined folders that were not really used, so the new one had the following unique details:
    • short folder names, more close to back end dev conventions (3-4 chars if possible often close to filetype extention)
    • camelCase so no underscores or no spaces so we can send it around without character escape issues
    • max 2-3 hierarchies