Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low Poly Environment Assets

Hello!
I'm working on a some low poly assets for a large environment that will only be seen from high above (the player is flying over a canyon in a ship).

I'm new to making environment models, and new to low poly (most limited to 128 texture & 400 tris), any and all critiques or advice on how to model, texture, and be effecient (or anything else!) would be very greatly appreciated.

At the moment, this model/texture looks awful...

palmprev.jpg

Replies

• Snader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15
    1- You're spending a bunch too much polies on the leaves/planes.
    2- The stems are flat, I think 3 sides would nbe more appropriate
    3 - how about reducing the leaf texture to 1/4th of it, and tiling, or at least mirror along the center line.
  • Shiraz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Just keep the diffuse, I cant imagine normal maps being crucial for such a tiny asset like this though.

Shouldn't really spend too much time on the small things.

But i don't know what scale this intends to be so I may be wrong *shrugs*
  • Baddcog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baddcog polycounter lvl 9
    I agree, from way over head you wont notice too many details. Make the leaves a square, maybe 8 tris at most for a little bend. mirror the uv.kill the normal.
  • xXm0RpH3usXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xXm0RpH3usXx polycounter lvl 13
    you dont need to model out the overall shape of the leaf, as you have an opacity map...
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    you dont need to model out the overall shape of the leaf, as you have an opacity map...

Actually it's quite a good idea to follow the shape of the leaf. It reduces overdraw. Which is a major performance hit on this kind of asset.
  • Rockman!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message