Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Bargadiel - Starting out Fresh

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Bargadiel polycounter lvl 12
Hey all! I am an art student from central Florida, who has always been interested in Animation and 3-D modeling/character design. So far, I've been working on my drawing and haven't yet started any 3-D Modeling classes, since I don't transfer colleges for a little while longer. Although, some people from Valve who I emailed gave me some tidbits of advice that really pushed me along emotionally, and I started practicing with a program called Wings-3D. At the very least, it will get me used to this kind of thing before I start learning more about it in class, and I think it is a really neat program considering it's freeware.

Anyway, I did a couple of tutorials and then began making my own projects, just things I see around the house. I decided that maybe every couple of weeks, I will make a new object while I work on my drawing classes, using mostly just my intuition. I try to use proper measurements and make everything look symmetrical and nice. The first project I did on my own was an Authenticator, used for many MMOs and Online accounts, if any of you are familiar with it. I haven't textured or colored it yet, as I still barely know how to do anything, but what do you guys think?

AUTH1-1.png

AUTH2.png

AUTH3.png

AUTH4.png

AUTH5.png

Also, any of you know where I could find more tutorials for Wings3D or have any advice or tips? Thanks for looking!

Replies

• Zakk
    Offline / Send Message
    Zakk polycounter lvl 9
    The model looks pretty good, although you should try to keep the model in quads or triangles.

You can do this by inserting some edges from vertex to vertex like this ex:

crit.png