Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low-poly Battle Mage character

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
Tried imposing some limitations on myself and made a low-poly model with one 512x512 diffuse texture.

I wanted to keep it under 1K tris, but I got greedy and wanted fingers.

Modeled and rigged in 3DS Max 2010, Textured in Photoshop CS4 and Mudbox 2010.

Comments, critique? This is my first time trying a character with these kinds of limitations.

magelout_web.jpg

Replies

• Clintus Maximus
    I like him. The texture work is pretty good. The only thing to me is that nothing about him says "battle mage". Maybe in context with other characters or something this would be different but right now (to me) he looks like a senator from Star Wars or something. Futuristic but nothing makes me think spell caster when i look at him.
  • KyleJensen
    Offline / Send Message
    KyleJensen polycounter lvl 12
    White + red colors are more characteristic of a healer-type character (blame Final Fantasy for that)
    With that being said I think you should make his top a different color scheme.

(EDIT: Post below explains the origin of that particular color scheme better. So don't blame Final Fantasy. lol.)
  • Mark Dygert
    Looking pretty cool.

I agree about the color scheme, its not just FF that uses those colors just about every hospital, doctor, nurse, ambulance and game use those colors to indicate healing.

I also think you could soften up the features of the face and inject a little more color, right now he looks kind of sickly, old and frail.
  • BlvdNights
    Offline / Send Message
    BlvdNights polycounter lvl 8
    Is this for the new Davey Havok game?

745d1125424568-dude-thread-davey-havok-2.jpg
  • Shiniku
    Offline / Send Message
    Ah yeah, I see what you guys me. Overall I think I should have spent more time on the concept phase.