Home Technical Talk

Exported Zbrush obj not showing in 3DS Max

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
mospheric polycounter lvl 11
Ok, so I'm new to the process of making a base mesh, importing it into Zbrush, sculpting, and then bringing the sculpt into max. I have a friend who does this all the time and he has not had this issue:

I sculpted the high poly in Zbrush. I bring the divisions down and export as .obj. I try to then import the .obj into max, but I get several errors and the mesh never appears.

Errors I get:
"Missing Map - Not found: longhorn_cattle_post_max.bm"

After I select skip, It appears to import and then I get another error...

"OBJ Import Summarys - Diffuse-Map not found in Material: "defaultMat"

Once in Max, the object is selected, but it appears to be super small. Zoom-extents verifies that the object is tiny. Upon scaling up, there is no object to see.

I'm using Zbrush 4.0 and 3DS Max 2011. If other details are needed to help figure out what is wrong, let me know! Thanks for any help!

Replies

• cryrid
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    When you export the obj from max to zbrush, are you exporting it with a material as well? It almost sounds like it is importing into Max, failing to find a material you defined, and as a result not being visible. You could try giving it a new material in Max after importing, or choosing not to export with a material when you first export the basemesh to zbrush.

You might also want to try GoZ for Max
  • mospheric
    Offline / Send Message
    mospheric polycounter lvl 11
    Thank you a lot cryid! I probably brought it into Zbrush with a material. I don't know if that was the specific problem, but after setting up GoZ, that seemed to have fixed it! All I did was select GoZ and now it's in my scene! Thanks!
  • Neavah