Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Stylized textures - need help =[

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
snow polycounter lvl 8
Hi all, working on a cart model based off one I've always liked in the game Guild Wars. It's modelled just for practicing stylized textures (I scrapped a previous house I planned on doing as it was too big). This thread is really because I want to seek help and try and improve. This is my first time hand painting textures so they're pretty bad.

The look I'm going for is semi realistic textures, as in, not overly toony, they look realistic but handpainted - if that in any way makes sense.

Anyway, here is a tilable wood (256x256) that I've done...

woodtile.jpg

and the material that will drape from the top of the cart:

fabric.jpg

I didn't mind the fabric, until I applied it on the model. I'm not really sure what's wrong about it, (obviously it won't stay plain grey), but it doesn't look like that's how the folds would go or something.

cartwip01.jpg

Anyway love to get some tips and hints, thanks as always.

Replies

• Kuki
    Offline / Send Message
    Kuki polycounter lvl 8
    I suggest you to avoid a Tiled texture for the wooden part, I mean spending a little more texture space you could paint some custom details, studs and shadows that will pimp your texture map.
  • snow
    Offline / Send Message
    snow polycounter lvl 8
    Hi Kuki, that might be a good idea, I guess I was going for really low poly mmo specifications. But if it turns out good it would showcase my skills better if it weren't tiled I guess.

Thanks.
  • glenatron
    Offline / Send Message
    glenatron polycounter lvl 11
    The cloth folds should be a lot tighter / crisper towards the corners, where they are getting pinched, and a lot thicker and softer towards the middle, where the weight of the cloth would be.

Try varying your brush size/hardness, and making sure you use less opacity when painting the folds toward the middle of the cloth.