Home General Discussion

To Cintiq or not to Cintiq?

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
crazyfool polycounter lvl 13
I have been toying with the idea of getting a wacom Cintiq 21UX for some time but am worried about spending that amount of money on something I cant drive :)

Currently Im a freelance character artist and work on an A5 wide Intuos 3 which I love but I see Cintiqs being used more and more with high end studios and they are sexy as hell. But then I read reviews from illustrators in ImagineFX and other sites saying they arent that great and they would rather stick with the standard intuos.

The main drawbacks they had were with the screens brightness which is not as powerful as your standard monitor which affects your contrast and colour and that its hard to work on for a substantial amount of time. they gave it 3.5/5, and for something that costs so much I really want 5/5 :)

so to you Cinitiq users out there :) how good are they? are they easy to work with and have they made you a more productive artist?

I would be mostly using it for Zbrush sculpting, texturing and concepting. thanks for any help/advice :D

Replies

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter
    I'm working more convenient when I don't see my hand + pen over the canvas.. I use my cyntic (the smaller one) just for concepting yet
    And I really love that the normal tablet doesn't get warm
  • MagicSugar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
    It's best for hand drawn animation.

toon001.jpg
  • Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message