Home Technical Talk

new to zbrush

dansher
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
dansher polycounter lvl 8
hey all im pretty new to zbrush got it just a few days ago, i wanted to try make a dragon head sculpt and i was going to use 3ds max to make a base mesh. anyway i was wondering with the base mesh does it have to be all one part? or could i just use primitives to make a basic shape

Replies

• disanski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    disanski polycounter lvl 14
    Depends how far you would like to take this and what would it be used for. If it is just for practice should be fine to have separate parts - they will stay as separate parts in zbrush as well but you could always hide the seam with overlapping one part on top of the other. If you are just starting, start with something simple you could even start just with a sphere and pull it and push it to where you need to.
  • dansher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yeah i wasnt sure if it would stay as separate parts or not. its mainly just for practice, i tried using zspheres to make it but i couldnt really get a shape i liked using them.

i might just take the time and got to the extra effort of just making it out of one thing, im sure it would make it look alot better aswell
  • dansher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    made a bit of a start on the base mesh, its a bit square at the moment bit ill try fix that once i have the majority of it modeled

dragon.jpg

the ref is from the book brisingr by christopher paolini
  • disanski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am by no means pro at this but if you are just starting try to keep it simple. you dont need to model the mouth and the folds- this is what zbrush is for.
  • dansher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    disanski wrote: »
    I am by no means pro at this but if you are just starting try to keep it simple. you dont need to model the mouth and the folds- this is what zbrush is for.