Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Thing

tanka
polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
tanka polycounter lvl 12
I haven't done much 3d work since starting my new job, so I thought I'd try my hand at doing some character work. So I'm modelling The Thing, It's my first time using zspheres, and my first real work in zbrush, so any crits would be nice.

Here's what I've got so far:

thing01.jpg

It's not much, but I like to think he's shaping up ok. I'm really going to need to define those muscles if I want him to look good, which will be a fairly new experience for me.

Thoughts?

Replies

• tanka
    Offline / Send Message
    tanka polycounter lvl 12
    Update: No news is good news, I guess.

I've been working on the head for a fair chunk of the day.

thing02.jpg

thing03.jpg

I'm going to hold off adding the stone until I've finished the whole character, although I'm beginning to think I should break him up into seperate objects so the polycount becomes a bit more manageable.
  • tanka
    Offline / Send Message
    tanka polycounter lvl 12
    Update: Although I'm beginning to think nobody cares.. :P

thing04.jpg

I've split the mesh into seperate peices, detailed the head, and I'm about to start sculpting the body.

Thoughts? Crits? Anything? :S :P
  • danshewan
    Offline / Send Message
    danshewan polycounter lvl 8
    Okay, after my initial disappointment that this wasn't the Thing from the John Carpenter film, I'm wondering what design this will be based on?

To be honest, I found the movie adaptation version quite bland - depending on which comic artist drew him, The Thing has a lot of potential to be very stylized, especially with the facial features. I think, tempting as it may be, you've dived into the surface detailing too soon - if I were you, I'd spend more time on defining those facial features (and the rest of the form) before starting on the surface cracks.