Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feng Drone

Here’s a model I’ve been working on now off and on for a few months, its finally finished and I’m happy to show it here. The model is based on a Feng Zhu concept, which is posted below, along with images of my take on the concept in making a 3D version. Noticeably I don’t have a cockpit in the 3D version, wanted it to be more a drone then something actually piloted. Also I took some suggestions from some friends of mine and redesigned some areas, and took liberties where the concept was a bit ambiguous.

This is my first time using the method of going high to low poly, baking normals and ambient occlusions from the high on to the low. It was all done in max and photoshop, while the screenshots were taken using Marmoset Toolbag. The poly count is bit over 18k, would like for that to be lower :( . The model was broken down into four sections each with its own set of color, spec, and normal maps. Map sizes used taking the screenshots were at 2048x2048, however the model still holds up using smaller 1024x1024 just not as crisp as I would like. The glow effects were added in photoshop.

As mentioned early this is my first time making a model in this manner, as such I made a lot mistakes haha. So any constructive criticism, comments, or questions are welcomed. Thanks!

shot01w.jpg

shot05.jpg

shot02.jpg

shot03.jpg

wireso.jpg

mapsplash.jpg

vehifengimage16.jpg

Replies

• pliang
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17
    Looks good Chubs, maybe it's the screen but I was thinking some extra work with the spec to increase the lustre in the metal would match the concept better. The first image I thought the material was made of hard leather till I saw the concept.

Any chance of different paint job/skins for this?
  • Sean VanGorder
    Not bad at all for a first attempt! There are a couple things that stand out, however.