Home General Discussion

Gaming Industry (help)

Im a tattoo artist looking to get into the field of 2D concept art for games or what have you. I have no college background, but a pretty strong sense of form balance and lighting. I did a search on blizzard to get a feel for what is required of concept and 2d artists.

What im getting at here, is what are the odds of landing a job working for a major company like blizzard without a degree? And what knowledge of programs is generally expected for a 2D Artist? What kind of elements should i showcase in a portfolio for this type of job? What kind of pay can you expect doing this type of thing? This is not something i plan on jumping into right away. Im trying to collect some information so when the time comes i can do it properly. Any resources that have helped you, or information would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Rwolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rwolf polycounter lvl 18
    1. Portfolio > degree
    2. Photoshop (Or whatever program you perfer)
    3. Whatever you want to focus on, Character, Environment, Vehical/Props
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    How much of a background do you have in traditional art and working with digital painting (wacom tablet + photoshop)?

Your best bet would be a larger company, lots of times for smaller studios, concept artists also have to do other things like texture work.

For a portfolio you'd need lots of real world applications of concept art, anything from character/prop concepts, to full scenes.

Just look at some of the concept art already out there.

http://www.igorstshirts.com/blog/conceptships/resistance_concept_ships.jpg

http://ve3dmedia.ign.com/images/05/92/59297_Brink-ConceptArt-01_normal.jpg

http://www.splashdamage.com/images/content/dev/091009_04.jpg

http://static.bethsoft.com/blog/bothcharactersdevdiary3.jpg

http://www.blogcdn.com/www.massively.com/media/2009/06/danieldociuconstructionsiteat580.jpg