Home Technical Talk

Modular brick wall tiling questions.

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
Steen polycounter lvl 16
I've been trying to get my feet wet with some environment modeling and I've run into a few hurdles. I was looking at Kevin Johnstone's Gears2 thread, and how he made modular brick pieces to build up walls and columns. What isn't apparent to me is how he deals with the partial brick pieces on the end of his wall chunks. Should I slice off the ends of the bricks that overlap my border and just cap them?

wall_front.jpg

Also, how do I deal with baking texture maps when I have all of these bricks instanced from one source brick? Combining them into one object from the current source brick makes a wall with way more polys than max likes. Do I need to do some sort of retopo thing? (I have no experience with retopo and could use more info on this topic). Maybe the initial brick needs to be normal mapped first?

brick_specs.jpg

My goal is to come up with something I can use in udk, so I'm primarily concerned with learning the zbrush/max/udk pipeline. Any tips to help me get through these initial technical growing pains would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• EarthQuake
    the way you have it will work just fine for baking. I usually like to leave some "padding" bricks, IE a few layers outside the bounds of the bake plane, this will ensure you get correct AO at the boarders of the texture map. As it stands now, the bricks that end at the edges of the bake mesh(all top and all bottom, some of the sides) you'll get different AO there, resulting in tiling artifacts.

I'm not sure about the instance thing, have you tried just baking it and see what happens?

You've got some pretty noticeable repetitive details on some of the bricks, you might want to consider editing the source mesh a little, creating a couple more variations, or rotating some in a different manner(ie: roll).
  • glynnsmith
    Offline / Send Message
    glynnsmith polycounter lvl 17