Home General Discussion

Opinion(s) on buying New laptops

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
Hello members of the polycount;

As the title states that your opinion is required in this thread regarding buying a new laptop (for 3d modelers)

So far I've used the build engine of Dell and came up with Following:

http://configure.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=ca&cs=CALCA1&l=en&oc=M6500_R_E

Contants:
Processor: Intel Core i7-920XM Extreme Edition 2.00GHz 8MB
Dell Precision M6500 Mobile Workstation for Quad Core Processor
Memory: 8.0 DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM, 2 DIMMS
Graphic Card: 1.0 GB ATI FirePro M7740 Graphics.

That came up around $5k before SH and tax.

I found This on newegg.ca to compare:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834220668

Contants:
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9000 2.0GHZ
Memory: 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260M
Video memory: 1GB DDR3 WLAN

Now it is my first time changing brand (if needed) but I really want to know what laptop do you guys use (aside from Alienware) To do your work.

That includes. 3ds max, Zbrush, Gimp/Photoshop (with no lag while using wacom tablet)
Along with Visual Studio.NET 2008 Pro installed on it (which contains entire suite inluding MS SQL.NET)

Thanks! :)

EDIT: I know this topic has been posted several times here but I wanted to get the first hand opinion on it.

EDIT2: The ASUS Quad, heats up really fast according to their reviews. I dont know about Dell.

EDIT3: Windows 7 Professional-64bit prefered.

Replies

• oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    You know I was just looking this morn. Cant help you much, but I was thinking. If this is for content development. You dont need the super high end graphics card since you will have 1 or two items on screen at time unless in editor right? I mean you dont need 60fps.