Home General Discussion

How effective are game design courses?

Hi there guys.

I am currently a game design student writing my dissertation on the rise of game design degrees and their impact on the industry, and the students who take them.

I have a great deal of respect for the Polycount community so I felt that I could ask for your opinions on the subject, and get some insightful answers. (This is not to say I'm in need of things to write about).

My research question in full is "How effective are BA videogame design courses and how are they shaping the UK games industry?"

Understandably 'effective' is a highly contentious word and context sensitive in all its uses, but I feel that it's appropriate here because in my eyes there are three distinct areas to this study, they are universities, students and the game industry itself. The answer to the question clearly pivots on the various definitions of the word.
For example, a student might consider the degree effective if it clearly enhances his/her chances of employment, whereas the university may believe that being effective is not to do with gaining employment at all, but instead if the course is successful, i.e. if it persistently is a popular degree and brings in a good number of new students each year.

Not to get too distracted by semantics, I would like to know what you guys think about the state of games design as formal education and what impact its having on the industry.

Replies

• Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
    game degrees suck. They put out alot of people with lots of expectations only to have them dashed and broke.
  • Firecracker197
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Firecracker197 polycounter lvl 11
    They are only as effective as you want them to be, you can only learn as much as you are willing to learn.