Home General Discussion

Hello! New member - and a question.

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Godo polycounter lvl 12
Hi all-
First allow me to introduce myself since I'm pretty new - mostly a lurker. My name is Gordon, I'm currently a middle school art teacher. I finished my licensure in 2005 and just now got a job - a one year contract. (and you think the game industry is competitive - in teaching you literally have to wait for someone to retire or die so you can get a job) We'll see in a month or so if they're going to hire me on permanently. If that's the case, I want to ask about something I've been mulling over for a while now...

I really became interested in game art in 2004, just before I graduated (of course too late to do anything about it then). That was when the mod scene exploded. Before then I really hadn't thought of a job or career in game art because those jobs did not exist, or were not known as they are now when I was growing up. I listened to advice from people telling me to major in something practical like education, which is what I did. I enjoy it, I do not regret it. But I love making art. It engages me unlike anything else. Over the past few years I have been teaching myself 3D modeling. Progress has been slow but steady. I have used Photoshop since 1998, so I know that like the back of my hand (I used to think I wanted to be a comic book artist). But modeling is really enjoyable. I love creating something from scratch, building it, texturing it, watching it become something you can interact with in the game.

This brings me to my idea... If I become employed full time as a teacher, I will have summers off and get paid (very important).
I want to know: What is the possibility of me shadowing at a studio over the summer as an intern or volunteer?