Home General Discussion

Schooling

Hello,

I have been interested in an online school. Does anyone have any experience with them (This is a in Canadian in province distance online learning place, called Dartt Instuite).

Or could someone point me to a forum that would have information?

Replies

• NyneDown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NyneDown polycounter lvl 11
    polycount > online schooling =)
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] polycounter lvl 18
    Yes. I went to Art Institute Online briefly (I got my degree elsewhere before that, but at the time I thought going through a "game art" specific curriculum would benefit me). Don't do it. I'm going to sound like a total whiner by describing it, but it's an accurate description...

I don't know about any other online schools, but AIO consisted of a "lesson" for each week, and then a web forum to post assignments and stuff.

The lessons were written overviews intended to substitute for a lecture, but there was very very little content in any of them. Most of them literally consisted of an intro paragraph followed by links to other (free) websites with more in-depth information.

The assignments usually consisted of reading some chapters in the books (none of which really contained any information that isn't available online today for free) and then answering some questions about them. For attendance credit, everyone in the class had to comment on each other's answers. Because everyone was answering the same questions about the same material, these comments were always useless.

To give you an idea of the art assignments...
    For anatomy and life drawing, in lieu of a classroom with a model, they had us buy VirtualPose and scan/upload our sketches, and also copy anatomical illustrations from Art Student's Anatomy by Edmond J. Farris. If you've ever taken a real life drawing class, you know the difference.