Home Technical Talk

I need some buying advice concerning 3D applications and hardware

I need help deciding about some 3D aplications to get.
Here is my situation, I'm new to 3D modeling and would eventualy like to be a professional at it, and I'm wondering which programs I should buy.
I was going to spend a considerable sum on this and then I stoped and asked myself do I need this stuff and I want some advice from people here that are more experienced than myself with this kind of stuff.

this was my to buy list:

A top of the range PC
Wacom Intuos4
Z brush
3D studio max
Vray
Photoshop CS3
corel painter (concept art)

I currently use Blender 3D and have a very basic understanding of it and
anyway what sort of pc should I get as a beginner (I want it for gaming also and to be able to run games like crysis 2 when it comes out on high or near that) and which programs
can I scratch off My list for the moment ? how much do you recomend I spend on them and the pc ?
I'm not made of money and this stuff would take me about 3 or 4 years to gather in total and any tips on realible cheaper alternatives are apreciated,
I'm sorry if a thread like this was created before, I didn't want to resurrect an old thread, with old threads people tend to look at them less because they are old and I could be missing out on imput because of that so if your going to bitch me out about that leave now!
If your willing to stay and offer me advice I apreciate that and thank you.
I remember those who are kind to me.

Replies

• DarthNater
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthNater polycounter lvl 10
    Well, if you're doing game art only, Vray would be pointless to buy. Even still, if you know how to use Mental Ray (hell even scanline renderer) correctly, you won't need it.

I wouldn't go with both Mud and Zbrush, see which one you like better and use that. I currently have both and really wish I would have only bought Z (i rarely use Mud anymore).