Home Technical Talk

Great Maya UV's unwrap new script

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
bugo polycounter lvl 17
Not sure if this was posted, but I'm sure lots of people here would like to check this out:

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/stevenr/unwrap_uvs_tool_an_interactive_tool_for_automatically_unwrapping_uvs

Replies

• larolaro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    larolaro polycounter lvl 9
    Nice! I've mostly been using unfold3d but this seems really useful. Thanks for sharing!
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Cool stuff, I'll give this a shot when I get back home next year. Looks useful!
  • BeatKitano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BeatKitano polycounter lvl 16
    Tried it with some base mesh, this still gives wayyy worse results than a quick shot at uv layout
  • Gilgamesh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gilgamesh polycounter lvl 12
    I had the same experience as Beat. But I started playing with some settings and where to put some seams and it's a much better result but I still not sure if it's actually faster for me.
  • bugo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bugo polycounter lvl 17
    Yeah, we have to think this is a BETA. I hope he launches it very soon so we can play more.
  • Gallows
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gallows polycounter lvl 9
    You just saved me a few hours. Thanks man
  • malcolm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    malcolm polycount sponsor
    So does this script work for roads that have uneven poly distribution because if that's the case it would be really useful. If the polies have to be pefectly square for it to work then I already have this functionality in maya by default.
  • bugo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bugo polycounter lvl 17
    Gallows wrote: »
    You just saved me a few hours. Thanks man

You welcome :)
  • .Murder
    Options
    Offline / Send Message