Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Gears Inspired Hospital Map (DM)

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
DarthNater polycounter lvl 10
I've been playing Gears WAY too much lately (even reading the books, get them if you don't have them). Anyway, I've been throwing around the idea of doing some level design so I figured I'd throw together an old school hospital that would fit into the Gears Universe. This is just a simple DM level, as it is my first time really doing a map start to finish.

Updates will probably be pretty lengthy, since I have a fulltime job and only get to work on this for an hour or so a day :) I plan on sharing all the assets once it's finished.

Enough text - Pics or it didn't happen:

Main Floor:

Floor1.jpg

Second Floor (Will be open design, so you can jump to first):

Floor2.jpg

Basement (This is going to look like something shady was going down):

Basement.jpg

I have already moved away from this design, I dropped it down to 1 staircase and added two elevator shafts at each hallway end...

UDK screen shots:

These are just base static meshes I threw together to replace the BSP. It's only floors and walls ATM so I know it looks like hell. Also, I don't have an SM 3.0 card here so I have to bake my lightmass at home (I'll mess with the lighting once the level is complete).

Map2.jpg

Map1.jpg

And finally, the very first Hi Poly piece of the map, the handrails (w00t):

RailingsFinal.jpg

RailingsFinal2.jpg

More to come!

Replies

• Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17
    Loving the details in that high poly piece. Looks ambitious, will keep an eye on this!
  • Matroskin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Matroskin polycounter lvl 11
    Watch out with doing real hospital floor plan. It might have big chances not being fun to play.
    Usually level design, especially for DM maps with fast paced gameplay, should be built considering game flow in the first place.